1. What is the Hang Seng Index?

The Hang Seng Index, an important indicator of Hong Kong stock market prices, is calculated from the market capitalization of certain constituent stocks (ie blue chip stocks), representing 63% of the 12-month average market capitalization rate of all listed companies on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. The Hang Seng Index consists of Hang Seng Index Co., Ltd., a subsidiary of Hang Seng Bank, is responsible for the calculation and quarterly review, and announces the adjustment of constituent stocks.

The Hang Seng Index, compiled by Hang Seng Index Services Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Hong Kong Hang Seng Bank, is a sample of 50 listed stocks in the Hong Kong stock market, with a weighted average stock price index based on its circulation. It is a stock price index that reflects the most influential trend in the Hong Kong stock market. The index was first publicly released on November 24, 1969, with a base date of July 31, 1964. The base period index is set at 100.

2. Interpretation

Hang Seng Index; Hang Seng. name. Use singular. Abbreviated as: HSI. An index compiled by Hang Seng Index Company, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Hong Kong Hang Seng Bank. The selected sample stocks are 33 listed companies in the Hong Kong stock market, which is a weighted average stock price index with circulation as weight. The most influential index for the Hong Kong stock market.  

The HSCEI, also known as the H-shares index, is the Hang Seng China Enterprises Index. It was also compiled and published by Hong Kong Hang Seng Index Services Limited. The index calculates the weighted average stock price index based on the stocks of all Chinese H-share companies listed on the Stock Exchange. The HSCEI was first announced on August 8, 1994, with the date of the number of listed H-share companies reaching 10, that is, July 8, 1994 as the base date.  The closing index for the day was set at 1000 points.

BingX respects all the laws of all countries to encrypt digital assets in blockchains. The services shown on this page are not open to residents in the following countries or regions: Afghanistan, Burundi, Belarus, Central African Republic, Congo, mainland China, Ethiopia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Iraq, Iran, Democratic Republic of Korea, Lebanon, Sri Lanka, Libya, Serbia, Sudan, Somalia, South Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tunisia, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, Uganda, the United States, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe, Cuba, Netherlands, the United States (including all United States territories, such as Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam). This list of excluded countries may vary, depending on the service.